Rearranging grief and loss

via Daily Prompt: Rearrange

While cleaning my room
I came across a
photograph
black and white;
and
its edges
folded  and creased.

I am sitting in
a frock
with my grandfather
by my side;
we both looking
cheerful and happy
and
perhaps more content.

My memory
rekindled
of the time;
impromptu
long walks
but
promised
ice creams on Sunday;
and
all the candies and
balloons
sneakily brought
in;
and all the praising for
paintings
hazily drawn
from a hand which often shakes
and-
leaving me suddenly
abruptly
no last words
not even goodbyes.

So I keep
the photograph
safely
this time,
as a souvenir
of his memories;
as a token
of his care,warmth and
tenderness;
and as a reminder
of his love.

 

Leave a Reply

